Skip to main content Skip to footer

Profile Last Updated: 04/20/2021 Grant Information Last Updated: 10/06/2018


Fast-track your prospect research with a Professional plan upgrade.

Access lists of funders based on detailed search criteria and other features such as:

  • Maps and Charts
  • Funding Interests
  • Grant Information
  • Recipient Profiles
  • Applications/RFPs
  • Financials
  • Who's Who - Officers and Staff
  • News, Social Media and Publications


Purpose and Activities

The foundation is dedicated to film preservation in the United States, preserving and restoring a broad range of films including Hollywood productions, independent features, avant-garde works, and documentaries and films from the silent era; the foundation also supports the creation of innovative educational programs.


Established in 1990 in CA - Founded by movie directors Martin Scorsese, Woody Allen, Robert Altman, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, Stanley Kubrick, George W. Lucas, Jr., Sydney Pollack, Robert Redford, and Steven Spielberg. Martin Scorsese directed the films “Taxi Driver," "Raging Bull,” “The Color of Money,” “Goodfellas,” “Casino," and "The Wolf of Wall Street." He won an Academy Award for Best Director for “The Departed” in 2007. Woody Allen's films include “Annie Hall,” for which he won the Academy Award for Best Director, “Manhattan,” “The Purple Rose of Cairo,” “Hannah and Her Sisters,” “Mighty Aphrodite,” “Match Point,” and "Blue Jasmine." Robert Altman's films include “M*A*S*H,” “Nashville,” “3 Women,” and “The Player.” Francis Ford Coppola is most well-known for directing “The Godfather” and its sequels, “American Graffiti,” “Apocalypse Now,” and “Bram Stoker's Dracula." He won an Academy Award for Best Director for “The Godfather Part II” in 1974. Clint Eastwood has earned Academy Awards for Best Director for “Unforgiven” and “Million Dollar Baby," and was also nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor in both films. The late Stanley Kubrick's films include “Lolita,” “Dr. Strangelove,” or “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb,” “2001: A Space Odyssey,” “A Clockwork Orange,” and “The Shining." George Lucas is best-known for producing, directing, and writing the screenplay for the 1977 film "Star Wars" and three of its prequels: "The Phantom Menace," "Attack of the Clones" and "Revenge of the Sith." He also wrote the screenplays for "The Empire Strikes Back," "Return of the Jedi," and the Indiana Jones movies. Lucas also founded the Academy Award-winning motion picture visual effects company Industrial Light & Magic. Sydney Pollack's films include “Out of Africa,” which won him an Academy Award for Best Director; “Tootsie," and “The Firm.” Robert Redford founded the Sundance Film Festival." In 1980, he won an Oscar for his directorial debut film "Ordinary People" and one for Lifetime Achievement. He directed several more movies, including "The Milagro Beanfield War," "A River Runs Through It" and "Quiz Show." Among the many movies he has starred in are "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" and "All the President's Men." Redford also starred on Broadway in the original production of Neil Simon's "Barefoot in the Park." Some of his other Broadway shows include "Sunday in New York" and "Tall Story." Steven Spielberg is the co-owner of DreamWorks. He won the Academy Award for Best Director for “Schindler’s List” and for “Saving Private Ryan.” Among his box office record breaking films are “Jaws,” “E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial” and “Jurassic Park.” “Life” named him the most influential person of his generation, and at the end of the twentieth century “Time” listed him as one of the “100 Most Important People of the Century.” George Lucas has committed to The Giving Pledge, and has pledged to give away at least half of his wealth to philanthropy



Public charity




7920 SUNSET BLVD 6TH FLOOR Los Angeles, CA United States 90046

Contact Information